Meal prep. Meal prep. Meal prep.

That was my day today. I mostly slept in, other than waking up and convincing a toddler to go back to sleep in my bed so I could sleep longer. She acquiesced. Then I just grocery shopped and meal prepped. While drinking some very cheap, very delicious Aldi’s wine. I made three recipes but have only tasted one so far. The rest are in bags in the freezer, ready to be thrown in a crock pot in the morning.

I made No Bean Pumpkin Chili. Sounds weird but it’s awesome. And keto. And dairy free, which are two things I am really working on right now. I also made hamburger soup and a chicken recipe but I’ll wait on giving links and thoughts until after I give them a try. IMG_20171029_210206323.jpgChili based recipes are always challenging for me because of my corn allergy, I am not able to have citric acid which is in almost all canned diced tomatoes. Instead, I’ve found a boxed (over priced) diced tomato that Meijer sells. It’s very good but it’s also a struggle to buys something that’s twice the price of all the other ones.

The good news is even though I have to struggle with my own stuff, it looks like my daughter is not allergic to corn. My heart is soaring. I was able to let her have some candy at a trunk or treat. Like the other kids. It was amazing. I want her to be the healthiest she can be but I also want her to be a human being. So I was able to let her go to town on the suckers and the tootsie rolls.

I look forward to letting my daughter actually enjoy Halloween and trick or treating with her like I did with my parents. But tonight, I look forward to a few more glasses of wine and leftover chili.

Always,

Winter Song

 

 

Leave a comment